Tomorrow will be a new day.

It's friday night. Apart from the occasional sound from Lilly, all is quiet. It's the middle of the night but the sun just went down an hour or two ago and will be coming up agian jst as soon. I look around in my room and see that I'm rather well off, I feel lucky and priveliged. I think of my family, of Marlene who's out on holiday in South Africa and of my parents who are fast asleep in bed.

It's not long left untill I leave for my own trip back to the continent I love so much. I worry that I've been away for so long I don't understand what it's like. I often think of my time in africa as so distant, almost as if it was all just a dream. I don't remember as much as I wish I did and it feels like I failed myself when I think that I've become more swedish than african.

When I was little I didn't belive in Father Christmas, the Tooth Fairie or any of those children stories, at least I don't remember believing in them. I think that's becuase we mainly lived in the rural areas and not long in the cities. I remember driving in to Lusaka (capital of Zambia) and thinking how cool it was. There were lights in the road (called cateyes) and never ending lighting on the side of the road. It was an amazing expieriance.

When I was little I didn't really want to become a police or astronaut. I wanted to be a farmer, or a doctor that drove formula one in his freetime. Not much has changed. Being a doctor has been in my mind alot lately and I have also thought of joining the army or owning my own hotel. Who knows. I am sure however, when I decide on what I want to be, I will become just that.

In a cartoon I saw recently a turtle said that we can't changed the past and we don't know what will happen in the future but today is a gift, that is why we call it the present. I can't go back in time and remember more of my early stages in life and I don't know what I might do in the future but today I can plan for the future and savour being alive and healthy.

Tomorrow will be a new day. Enjoy it.


Kommentarer
Postat av: Mai

Wow! Truly, madly, deeply!

Everytime I want to bury myself, I will think of what the turtle said.

2008-06-23 @ 19:22:29
URL: http://maitaison.blogg.se/
Postat av: Malin

dude, you are NOT joining the army!! unless it's the swedish one, because they never go to war anyway.. ever... so that's ok!

2008-06-23 @ 19:35:49
URL: http://mollyb.blogg.se/

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0